Department of Ophthalmology

The University Department provides the ophthalmology component of the undergraduate medical curriculum in the delivery of core material via the Systems in Practice (SiP) for 3rd year  students; Preparation in Practice (PiP) for 4th year students; student selected components (SSC) which can be either research or clinically based; 4th year projects and internal and external electives.

Research within the department is mainly clinically based with an epidemiological bias. Areas of research interest include diabetic eye disease, ocular trauma, strabismus and congenital naso-lacrimal duct obstruction. Strong research links exist between the department of medicine (diabetes and ENT).

The Ophthalmology Department provides a full range of clinical ophthalmology services to the population of Tayside (city of Dundee, Angus, Perth and Kinross) and North East Fife.  The catchment area encompasses approximately 751,000 people.  The services are based at Ninewells Hospital & Medical School, Ward 25 in the West Block of the hospital.

In patient services are based at Ninewells Hospital, comprising in patient beds, two operating theatres, a laser suite and a day case unit.

Out patient clinics take place within Ninewells Hospital. Perth Royal Infirmary, Arbroath, Montrose, Stracathro Hospital and Brechin.